top of page

Jogjakarta - In General

Jogjakarta was my first holiday destination in Indonesia, and I have to say I've developed a fondness for this beautiful city over my five day stay.

Jogja, also known as Yogya, is the cultural center of Indonesia, partly because of the hundreds of temples dotted around this, the Special Capital Region of Java, and also the Capital city of the Java region, and also because of the high esteem placed on cultural values here.

People are proud of their customs and traditions, and wear it with pride.

I decided to stay in Malioboro, because of its central location to sites I wanted to see. Prambanan, Borobudur, Goa Jomblang Cave, Mount Merapi, Kraton, were but a few on my hit list.

Unfortunately my sight seeing was cut short due to the onset of a vicious stomach bug which left me cramped and farting in the hotel for a day and a half, which meant the last of my visits, to the Water Palace and Kraton, were out of the question.

There is really so much to see here, five days would in any case not be enough, and I'm eager to return to this amazing city.

If you've been to Jakarta then any other city would offer respite from Jakarta's chaos.

Jogja Region really is a place for adventuring. People are extremely friendly and will stop you on the sidewalk whilst curio shopping to have a long conversation with you; asking about how long you've been in Jogja, if you like it, whether you would return, where youre from and where you're going, if you're married - The list of questions goes on and on and on. But Jogjan's mean no harm, and after my first night of walking through Jalan Malioboro I thought it best to come up with a polite excuse to move on from the conversation to continue my exploration of the town. One needs wait for the right moment to interject with - right hand over your chest - saying something to the likes of -

"I'm sorry my friend, I really need to go, it was lovely speaking to you, stay well - Terima kashi ya!"

I would suggest getting a tour guide to see the sights before going to Joja but after landing (if staying in Malioboro - which I would suggest) you can easily find a tour guide off the main JL. Malioboro. At the top of Malioboro turn right down the first alley, (There's a great restaurant/drinking hole, you'll recognise it by the Anker and Bintang Beer signage. They make a great omelet as well apparently.) Expats hang out here as well. I met two guys, and Ozzie and a New Zealander who were traveling through. They made great company on my first night out. I discovered the Ozzie had actually worked in my home town of Durban in the 80's - The world really is a small place.

I stumbled across a tour guide by accident after looking at old pins on Pinterest before I even moved to Indonesia. View my "Indonesia" Board at https://za.pinterest.com/warrenwessels/indonesia/

Discover Your Indonesia - http://discoveryourindonesia.com/ (info@discoveryourindonesia.com)

Discover your Indonesia was my saving grace. It's run by a young lady, Firsta. Her communication is great and she tailors a package to suite your needs. Hit google hard before visiting Jogja. On your first visit you would want to see the main sights; I say first visit because you will want to go back!

Make a list of everything you want to see and send it off to Firsta. She is amazing - YOU WILL LOVE HER!

On my trip I also had the pleasure of her arranging a great driver for me - Pak Yudi.

Pak Yudi is an awesome driver, his car is comfy and air-conditioned. He's a local and knows all the good spots and sights around Jogja that are off the trail -blazed track by expats and tourists. He speaks English as well - BONUS!

Yudi offered to teach me how to plant rice on his families farm. I had just been to Borobudur for the sunrise tour, and with my stomach flu setting in fast I was drained and not in the mood to be wading through mud, lest I shit myself in the rice paddy.

If Yudi isn't helping out Firsta in her business, he'd be happy to take on clientel. He's Also on Instagram (yudi_jogja23). You won't regret it! Call or Whatsapp on (+62 818-0419-9939).

I would also like to add that Indonesians are very willing to help and extremely friendly and polite people. The drivers will oblige to your requests, but please don't abuse them. Indonesians will say yes, even when they want to say no.

Onto matters of living. I stayed at Hotel Neo Malioboro. I wanted to choose a smaller hotel/backpacker, but after my experience in Singapore with a "Modular backpackers" I decided to opt for the hotel.

Hotel Neo Malioboro is a modern, clean hotel owned by the Neo Group of hotels. They have hotels spread across Southeast Asia. The breakfast is buffet, and whilst it is a great spread, you can only eat so much, and at 100 000 Rupiah a head, I found it a little on the expensive side to eat there. You can however find stores and stalls all over Malioboro to eat at (If your intestines are accustomed to the food.)

The dining at Hotel Neo Malioboro is more reasonable and ranges in price depending on what you order, every night is different. Over-all the hotel was great to stay at, the rooms are spacious and air-conditioned. I paid 240 000 Rupiah for my five night stay. I have to also add that after climbing Mount Merapi, it was great to slip between clean white linen after a thorough scrub-down.

Right next door to Hotel Neo Malioboro is an interesting Hotel. They have an aeroplane in the yard. I'm not too sure if this is a dining area or an actual bedroom that you can stay in, but why not give it a go and call up the proprietors.

This is the view from the Poolside of Hotel Neo Malioboro at Hotel Ratna next-door.

"Hotel Ratna" Pasar Kembang 17A

Tel:0274 – 561851

bottom of page